The Mistake That Cost Sven Kramer Olympic Gold | Strangest Moments

The Mistake That Cost Sven Kramer Olympic Gold | Strangest Moments


There aren’t many rules
to Olympic speed-skating. Get around the rink as quickly
as possible. That’s the gist. The fastest man or woman wins. But there’s one rule
you have to remember – there are only two lanes
on the speed-skating track and you have to skate
one lap in one lane and then the next lap
in the other. It’s simple, really. Alternate. This lane, then that lane,
then this lane, then that lane. Lap after lap. The whole sport is about rhythm. Dutchman Sven Kramer didn’t need
telling the rules or rhythms of speed skating. By the time of the 10,000m race
in Vancouver in 2010, Kramer hadn’t lost in four years. Sven Kramer! He’d won 18 consecutive
10,000m races and had a gold medal already from the 5,000m,
won the previous week. But on a fateful
February day in Canada, Kramer forgot his rhythm. JUDGE: Ready. Kramer was an
overwhelming favourite in Vancouver. He was last on the track,
from eight pairs of racers. Kramer was expected to destroy
his Russian partner Ivan Skobrev and to drift comfortably inside
the time of Korea’s Lee Seung-hoon, as well. For 16 laps everything was perfect. Skobrev was a dot in the mirrors.
Kramer was keeping bang on track. His rhythm was metronomic
and his style exquisite. Counting down the laps,
he had everything right. This lane, then that lane. Then 16 laps to go, then 15. 14, 13, 12, 11, 10, 9, 8. Whoa! What’s happened here, Sven?! Rewind. Speed skaters have a close
relationship with their coaches. The men and women in the tracksuits
stand by the side of the ice, to offer
encouragement and direction. They also tell the skaters if they
should be in this lane or that. Kramer’s coach Gerard Kemkers had
done all of the above for 16 laps. But then,
he had a moment of madness. As Kramer approached the changeover,
after 6,600m of plain sailing, Kemkers shouted at Kramer
to go to the inside lane. But Sven was sure
he should be heading out. The 23-year-old Kramer yielded to his older
and more experienced coach. But crucially, his own
instincts had been right and his coach’s were wrong. Clean-living Sven Kramer was now
on the wrong side of the tracks. Kemkers knew it almost instantly, but was powerless
to go back in time. The South Koreans knew it, too. Watching from the middle
of the track, they knew Kramer was going to be disqualified. The only man who didn’t know it
was the man in the polished black and orange skating suit,
who thought he was heading for a gold medal. He flew over the line,
smashing the Olympic record, but now Kemkers had to come clean. Kramer learnt that he had lost
the Olympic gold from the man who had caused the calamity. And he was not happy. Not happy at all. You’d think a calamity on this scale
would mean the end of the road for an athlete and their coach. Kemkers had let Kramer down
in the most public way imaginable, on the biggest possible stage. But Sven dug deep
and forgave his coach. Despite some obvious tensions,
the duo stayed together. And Sven was rewarded for
his patience four years later, at the Sochi Winter Games,
when he won two gold medals under the guidance of Kemkers. All’s well that ends well? Hmm, not quite. Just five weeks after Sochi,
Kramer dumped his coach. As they say, it’s easier
to forgive than to forget.

100 Replies to “The Mistake That Cost Sven Kramer Olympic Gold | Strangest Moments”

  1. As a Dutchman I found this event sort of funny. The lost world cup final 5 months later is still haunting me until this day though.

  2. He didn't dump his coach five after Sochi lol. Months before Sochi Kemkers himself already decided that he'd stop coaching after the Olympic season.

  3. I suggest the Netherlands change their ugly orange uniforms first. Kramer looks like he’s wearing a pair of black shorts over a pair of bright orange leotards. Hideous uniforms. Don’t know what they’re thinking.

  4. Rightfully disqualified but the Korean skater embarrassed himself to no end. If the only way you win is on a technicality like this you need to tone any celebrating down to zero.

  5. Going on the inside was shorter thus saving time. Had he went outside as required, finishing time would had been slightly longer.

  6. 벤쿠버 올림픽에서 크라머 실격되면서 이승훈이 어부지리로 금메달 따서 좋아했는데 지금보니 많이 미안해지네.4년간의 노력이 코치의 실수 때문에 한순간에 물거품이 됐는데 얼마나 빡치고 허무할까……………….  Kramer…….I'm  so sorry

  7. Sven was pissed!!!! And I can't blame him. That was a catastrophic mistake. At least Sochi provided some justice. 😊😊

  8. He probably would have been disqualified anyway but… Why didn't his coach at least take a chance and lead him to two consecutive outer ring laps then? He would have skated the right distance if so

  9. Nah there wouldn’t be a such thing as forgiving after then match, lol better be paying me some money or something. Caused him a easy gold sad sad sad

  10. The greatest speed skater that has ever been and that will probably ever will be. The only thing he couldn't achieve was an olympic gold medal on the 10k. nonetheless every Dutch person will remember he was unstoppable in his heyday.

  11. Poor fellow.. He won all the 5k in 3 olympics but only 1 silver in 3 of them despite being a long world record holder in the 10k.

  12. 코치가 무릎꿇고 빌어도 모자란거 아닌가 실수였지만 본인한테는 진짜 개빡쳤을것같은데 한 대 안친게 다행이다

  13. I feel sorry for his coach, I mean it's his fault but everyone makes mistakes and everyone probably blames the coach …

  14. I’ve always hated speed skating. Once we went to the Oval (My School) and we went skating. I remember we held a speed skating event for fun and my friends convinced me to skate. But I was so scared I would fall, I started crying. But of course we sorted that and I joined in. I fell onto my bottom and some kid almost fell on me. Wow, can’t wait for this year when they start figure skating and hockey. -.-

  15. That asll is extremely entertaining but i HATE Olympic channel for their RELUCTANCE to pronounce Russian names correctly.

  16. This is NOT his coach's fault. All he has to do is move forward and swap lanes every lap. That's his job. Literally. His coach is there to keep him from making a mistake, but it is Kramer's job to skate his race. I feel bad for the dude, don't get me wrong, but I'm sure once he cooled off, he'd tell you the same thing.

  17. Imagine winning a gold medal because someone else made a mistake lol. I guess that’s how sports work really.

  18. The Korean shouldn’t have celebrated like that you won because of a technicality not because of your ability

  19. Eerie that I just watched this video for the first time today and then an hour later I read that Lee Seung-hoon, who won gold here, will face a 1-year ban over… alleged assault of teammates (!!!).

  20. question is, if there was absolutely no obstruction, why can't they allow him to skate the outer lane an extra time, effectively skating exactly the same required distance?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *